19th Ave New York, NY 95822, USA

Basic Things You Need to Know About California Drunk Driving Laws

It is important that you always review the laws around you to remind yourself of the things that shouldn’t be done otherwise you will suffer severe repercussions. In this case, you have to focus your attention on Carlsbad Drunk Driving Accidents and laws. According to a study conducted by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in 2016, there was an average of 1 alcohol-impaired driving fatality every fifty minutes.

auto accident lawyerGetting behind the wheel of a vehicle after drinking alcohol is a very serious crime. Drunk driving is also called DUI (Driving Under the Influence). Keep in mind that any amount of alcohol in the bloodstream can significantly affect your driving ability – it will lead to slow reaction time and lack of coordination.  As a result, you are putting yourself and the people around in danger.

When are you considered legally drunk?
You should be familiar with the BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration). For non-commercial drivers above 21 years old, legally drunk means BAC of 0.08 grams per deciliter or more. Commercial drivers are legally drunk when BAC is 0.04 grams per deciliter or more; school bus drivers are considered commercial drivers. Drivers under 21 years old are considered legally drunk when their BAC is 0.01 grams per deciliter or more.

What are the penalties for drunk driving?


The penalties vary depending on the case. Here’s a general idea:

  • For those who are convicted of their first DUI, they will face imprisonment (in county jail) for at least 96 hours to 6 months. On top of that, they need to pay a fine from $390 to $1,000. Additionally, their driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months.
  • For those who are convicted of their second DUI within 10 years of the first conviction, they will face imprisonment (in county jail) for at least 90 days to 1 year. They need to pay a fine from $390 to $1,000. In this case, the license will be suspended for two years.auto accident lawyer
  • For those who are convicted of their third DUI within 10 years of the first and second conviction, they will face imprisonment (in county jail) for at least 120 days to 1 year. The fine is from $390 to $1,000. The license will be revoked for three years.
  • For those who are convicted of their fourth DUI within 10 years of the first, second and third convictions, they will face imprisonment (in state prison or county jail) for at least 180 days to 1 year subject to pay fine (anywhere from $390 to $1,000). The license will be revoked for four years.

There are also enhanced penalties for drunk driving that leads to serious bodily injury or death. For those who are convicted of a first DUI that resulted in serious bodily injury, they will face imprisonment (in state prison or county jail) for 90 days to 1 year. There will also be fine and suspension of driver’s license. For those who are convicted of causing bodily injury or death to more than one victim, they will receive additional one-year imprisonment (in state prison) for each injured victim.